FAQ


Waste

What kind of waste can be recycled?

There are several families of waste: plastic, glass, metals, paper and cardboard, organic materials and hazardous materials (chemicals, batteries, etc.). Paper, cardboard, plastic, metal and glass are recyclable. They are then used to make many other things such as bottles, clothes, bikes, etc.

How to recycle waste?

Waste recycling is the process of collecting and processing waste into new products or objects. Recycling is very beneficial to your community and the environment.

Many easy to implement solutions exist:

  • Sort through your paper, cardboard, plastic, glass and metal. You can then recycle your bottle, can, paper and cardboard waste by throwing them in the bins provided.
  • Don’t put food or liquids in your garbage, use compost instead.
  • Buy as little packaging as possible
  • Compost your organic waste as much as possible.

How to raise awareness of waste sorting?

Once thrown into nature, waste takes a long time to degrade. For example, a can takes up to 100 years, a plastic bag takes up to 1,000 years and a glass bottle takes up to 4,000 years. It is therefore important to be aware of the nature of existing waste as well as its impacts, which are generally very harmful to the environment.

Why is waste dangerous for the environment?

Not all waste is hazardous. Those that are, present a danger for health and/or the environment, because they release harmful substances. These wastes require an adapted treatment. When in contact with water, some waste, such as cigarette butts, spreads thousands of chemical and toxic substances. Waste is also dangerous for animals. Marine species mistake plastic waste for potential prey and get injured or die from choking or strangulation.

Why does waste end up in the sea?

According to a German study conducted in 2018, 90% of plastic waste found in the oceans or seas comes from only ten Asian and African rivers. China would be responsible for 27.7% of the waste found. The rivers, which cross urban, industrial and agricultural areas, are one of the main sources of waste coming from the land to the coast. 

If the collection of abandoned waste is poorly managed, then the waste will be pushed to the shoreline by winds and waters.

Fishing is also responsible for plastic waste in the oceans. Half of the seventh continent or waste vortex in the North Pacific is made up of a mass of fishing nets.

What is nuclear waste?

Nuclear waste comes from the nuclear industry. The composition of this waste generates radioactive radiation which is very dangerous for the planet and more particularly for all living things. This waste is treated according to its level of radioactivity and its lifespan. Formerly dumped in the ocean, the most radioactive waste is now buried very deep in the ground and covered with concrete, lead, sand, mud and earth to keep it isolated as long as possible.

What is organic waste?

Organic waste and more particularly vegetable waste (fruits, vegetables, etc.), which cannot be recycled, can be used to make compost. It can be used for gardening for example.

What is household waste?

Household waste is all the waste produced by households at their place of residence. This waste includes recyclable household waste (plastic, cardboard, glass, paper and metals). 

What is inert waste?

Inert waste is generally waste from construction and public works. If it is recyclable, this inert waste will be treated in a recycling plant. If it is not recyclable, this waste will be considered as inert (without future modification) or “ultimate” and cannot be recycled.

What is green waste?

Green waste is vegetable waste that comes from organic waste (animal and vegetable waste) produced by households. This type of waste is biodegradable and can be composted to make fertilizer for example.

What is waste electrical and electronic equipment?

Waste electrical and electronic equipment is a specific type of waste that must be taken to a waste disposal center, just like batteries, ink cartridges, wood and household products.

What waste is in the yellow garbage can?

According to the principles of selective sorting, the yellow bin can receive the following waste: 
Cardboard packaging: such as packages, food packaging (yogurt, cereals, pasta …). 
Steel and aluminium packaging: such as cans, tins, empty syrup bottles.
Paper waste: notebooks, newspapers, magazines, envelopes, letters. 
PET plastic waste: such as milk bottles, some household products or cosmetics containers.

What waste is in the blue garbage can?

The blue garbage can is dedicated to the collection of recyclable packaging and paper, newspapers, envelopes, notebooks, magazines, leaflets, paper advertisements, food cartons, plastic bottles, cans, aluminum and steel cans, aerosols, aluminum trays, etc.

What waste to put in the composter?

What is compostable:

Peelings, fruits, vegetables, coffee grounds (paper bags and filters are compostable), tea leaves, walnut shells, pits, flowers, leaves, straw, egg shells, citrus peels, …

What is not compostable:

Bread, leftovers, meat, fish, cheese, fruit labels, liquids, feces, litter, fats, garlic, bones, corks, chemicals, inorganic materials (salt, sand, etc.), …

Which waste degrades the least quickly?

Throwing waste into nature is not without consequences. Many of them degrade more or less slowly, and some have a life span of several thousand years! Among these wastes (without counting some nuclear wastes) we can find for example batteries, telephone cards, expanded polystyrene, bottles, glass, …

What waste should never be thrown in the garbage?

Some waste must be disposed of at the waste disposal center. These include bulky items (used or expired cleaning products), scrap metal, rubble, clothing as well as electrical and electronic appliances.

How much waste does each French person throw away per year?

Each French person produces about 1 kg of household waste per day. Each year, no less than 354 kg of household waste is produced. These calculations come from Ademe according to the tonnages of household waste (not including green waste) that have been collected by local authorities.

Recycling

How to recycle a cigarette butt?

The major challenge for EcoMégot is to recycle and valorize the butts that we collect. Today, butts are mainly used for their filters, which contain cellulose acetate (plastic material in the form of fiber). Then, the recycling is done in 4 steps:

  1. sorting and separating butts (filters, leaves, tobacco, other waste, …),
  2. drying and grinding of filters,
  3. the manufacture of granules,
  4. the creation of awareness panels for communities, companies, high schools, …

How to recycle a mask?

Once the collection is secured and the hygienization in our workshops is completed, the recycling and recovery process of the mask material is done in 4 steps:

  1. the masks are crushed into flakes,
  2. the separation between the scrap and the mask material (polypropylene) is done with a magnetic module,
  3. the mask flakes are melted, mixed and transformed into plastic granules,
  4. the creation of awareness panels for communities, hospitals, companies, …

How to recycle waste?

Recycling is visually represented by the familiar Möbius strip symbol. There are 4 steps to recycling waste: collecting recyclable materials, processing (sorting, cleaning and transforming into new materials), manufacturing new products with recycled materials and purchasing products from recycling.

Why recycling is not an end in itself?

At Keenat, we believe that recycling is not the absolute end. We work every day to encourage changes in behavior through awareness. A recycled object remains a future waste to be treated. We truly believe that recycling must serve to raise public awareness. Our mission will end when no waste will be present in the streets, parks, oceans, …

What happens to the masks and cigarette butts recycled by Keenat?

Keenat has developed environmentally friendly recycling solutions in partnership with French laboratories. Thanks to their research, it is possible to reuse the material from cigarette butts and surgical masks without using water or solvents. We recycle these wastes into awareness plates for communities, companies, high schools … These plates will have a role of reminder and awareness of pollution of cigarette butts and masks in parks, gardens, streets, beaches, business premises, town halls, …

What is the purpose of recycling?

Recycling is first and foremost a way to avoid wasting our natural resources and energy. In addition, it helps to secure the industry’s supply of raw materials and to reduce its environmental impact.

We are

Who can buy our solutions?

Our solutions are aimed at communities of all sizes, private or public companies, university campuses, establishments or structures receiving the public. We also have offers for events and festivals.

Why aren’t our solutions available to individuals?

Today, the waste we process (butts and masks) is waste that requires special attention. For the butts, we must have a sufficient quality of waste so that they can be treated and recycled. For the treatment of masks, we must be sure that the collection process is respected. For reasons of traceability, we cannot offer our solutions to private individuals. 

Why are our solutions part of a CSR approach?

The CSR approach is based on three pillars: economy, environment and social. With Keenat solutions, you act on these 3 levers. You act on the environment by treating your waste (cigarette butts, masks, chewing gum). You participate in the professional reintegration of people far from employment thanks to our partnerships with integration sites throughout France. You will integrate your employees in a meaningful process and this will be felt on the performance of your companies. Did you know that there is an economic gap of 13% between responsible companies and those who are not? 

Why raise awareness?

Few people are aware of the composition of their waste. For example, some people do not know that the filter of cigarette butts is made of plastic. We want to encourage changes in people’s behavior with regard to pollution and the environment. 

Our solutions would make less sense if citizens, employees or students were not made aware of them. It is by discussing and sharing that mentalities can change. 

For example, we conducted an experiment in Lyon on a bus line. On some stops, we only installed ashtrays, on others ashtrays and marking on the bus shelters and finally on some stops ashtrays, marking and the presence of a Keenat Ambassador to raise awareness. The volume of butts on the ground is considerably reduced when the EcoMégot solution is 100% deployed.

How is the waste collection going?

The collection is programmed by our teams in advance thanks to a powerful tour algorithm or according to the customer’s needs. It is carried out in priority by integration sites and support structures for people with disabilities. The collection is done by bicycle whenever possible (for communities and city centers) in order to minimize the carbon impact. A light commercial vehicle is used for metropolitan collections, local logistics and after-sales operations. Cigarette butts are transported in approved hazardous waste containers and by authorized personnel in strict compliance with current legislation.

Why is a cigarette butt not 100% recyclable?

A cigarette butt contains 3 elements: the filter, the paper and the tobacco. The filter, which is composed of cellulose acetate, is then transformed into this new recycled plastic material. The paper and tobacco, known as the “organic fraction”, are recovered via the energy recovery process specific to hazardous waste, in order to be transformed into Solid Substitution Fuel (CSS).

Skip to content

FAQ


Déchet

Quels sont les déchets que l’on peut recycler ?

Il existe plusieurs familles de déchets : le plastique, le verre, les métaux, les papiers et les cartons, les matières organiques et les matières dangereuses (produits chimiques, piles, etc.). Le papier, le carton, le plastique, le métal et le verre sont recyclables. Ils servent alors à fabriquer de nombreuses autres choses telles que des bouteilles, des habits, des vélos, etc.

Comment faire pour recycler les déchets ?

Le recyclage des déchets est le processus qui consiste à collecter et à traiter des déchets pour les transformer en nouveaux produits ou en objets. Le recyclage est très bénéfique pour votre communauté et l’environnement.

De nombreuses solutions simples à mettre en place existent :

  • Faites le tri dans vos papiers, cartons, plastiques, verres et métaux. Vous pouvez ensuite recycler vos déchets de bouteilles, de canettes, de papier et de carton en les jetant dans les bacs prévus à cet effet.
  • Ne mettez pas de nourriture ni de liquide dans vos déchets, utilisez plutôt un compost.
  • Achetez le moins d’emballages que possibles
  • Compostez le plus possible vos déchets organiques.

Comment sensibiliser au tri des déchets ?

Une fois jetés dans la nature, les déchets mettent beaucoup de temps à se dégrader. Par exemple, une canette met jusqu’à 100 ans, une poche en plastique met jusqu’à 1 000 ans et une bouteille en verre met jusqu’à 4 000 ans. Il faut donc bien prendre conscience de la nature des déchets existants ainsi que leurs impacts qui sont généralement très néfastes sur l’environnement.

Pourquoi les déchets sont-ils dangereux pour l’environnement ?

Tous les déchets ne sont pas dangereux. Ceux qui le sont, présentent un danger pour la santé et/ou l’environnement, car ils rejettent des substances néfastes. Ces déchets nécessitent donc un traitement adapté. Au contact de l’eau, certains déchets, comme les mégots, répandent des milliers de substances chimiques et toxiques. Les déchets sont aussi dangereux pour les animaux. Les espèces marines confondent les déchets plastiques avec de potentielles proies et se blessent ou meurent d’étouffement ou d’étranglement.

Pourquoi les déchets finissent-ils dans la mer ?

Selon une étude allemande réalisée en 2018, 90% des déchets plastiques retrouvés dans les océans ou les mers proviennent d’uniquement dix fleuve asiatiques et africains. La Chine serait responsable de 27.7% des déchets retrouvés. Les cours d’eau, qui traversent les zones urbaines, industrielles et les espaces agricoles, sont l’une des principales sources de déchets provenant des terres vers les côtes. 

Si la collecte des déchets abandonnés est mal gérée alors ces derniers seront poussés vers le littoral par les vents et les eaux.

La pêche est aussi responsable des déchets plastiques dans les océans. Le septième continent ou le vortex de déchets du Pacifique du Nord est constitué pour moitié d’une masse de filets de pêche.

Qu’est-ce que les déchets nucléaires ?

Les déchets nucléaires sont issus de l’industrie du nucléaire. La composition de ces déchets génère des rayonnements radioactifs qui sont très dangereux pour la planète et plus particulièrement pour tout ce qui est vivant. Ces déchets sont traités selon leur niveau de radioactivité et leur durée de vie. Autrefois jetés dans l’océan, les déchets les plus radioactifs sont aujourd’hui enfouis très profondément dans le sol et sont recouverts de béton, de plomb, de sable, de boue et de terre afin qu’ils soient isolés le plus longtemps possible.

Qu’est-ce que les déchets organiques ?

Les déchets organiques et plus particulièrement les déchets végétaux (fruits, légumes, etc.), qui sont non recyclables, peuvent être utilisés pour faire du compost. On peut donc s’en servir pour faire du jardinage par exemple.

Qu’est-ce que les déchets ménagers ?

Les déchets ménagers représentent tous les déchets produits par les ménages sur leur lieu d’habitation. Ces déchets regroupent les ordures ménagères recyclables (le plastique, le carton, le verre, le papier et les métaux). 

Qu’est-ce que les déchets inertes ?

Les déchets inertes sont généralement des déchets du bâtiment et des travaux publics. S’ils sont recyclables, ces déchets inertes seront traités dans une centrale de revalorisation. S’ils ne sont pas recyclables, ces déchets seront considérés comme inertes (sans modification future) ou “ultimes” et ne pourront pas être recyclés.

Qu’est-ce que les déchets verts ?

Les déchets verts regroupent les déchets végétaux qui sont issus des déchets organiques (regroupe les déchets d’origine animale et végétale) produits par les ménages. Ce type de déchet est biodégradable et peut être composté pour faire de l’engrais par exemple.

Qu’est-ce que les déchets d’équipements électriques et électroniques ?

Les déchets d’équipements électriques et électroniques sont des déchets spécifiques qu’il faut amener dans une déchetterie, tout comme les piles, les cartouches d’encre, le bois et les produits ménagers.

Quels déchets dans la poubelle jaune ?

Selon les principes du tri selectif, la poubelle jaune peut acceuillir les déchets suivants : 
Les emballages carton : comme les colis, les emballages alimentaires (yaourt, céréales, pâtes…). 
Les emballages acier et aluminium : comme les canettes, les boîtes de conserve, les bouteilles de sirop vide.
Les déchets papiers; cahiers, journaux, magazines, enveloppes, lettres. 
Les déchets plastiques PET : comme les bouteilles de lait, certains contenants de produits ménagers ou de cosmétiques.

Quels déchets dans la poubelle bleue ?

La poubelle bleue est dédiée à la collecte des emballages et papiers recyclables, journaux, enveloppes, cahiers, magazines, prospectus, publicités au format papier, briques alimentaires, flaconnages plastiques, boîtes de conserve, canettes en aluminium et en acier, aérosols, barquettes en aluminium, …

Quels déchets mettre dans le composteur ?

Ce qui est compostable :

Les épluchures, les fruits, les légumes, les marc de café (les sachets et filtres en papiers sont compostables), les feuilles de thé, les coquilles de noix, les noyaux, les fleurs, les feuilles, la paille, les coquilles d’oeuf, les pelures d’agrumes, …

Ce qui n’est pas compostable :

Le pain, les restes de repas, les viandes, les poissons, le fromage, les étiquettes sur les fruits, les liquides, les excréments, les litières, les matières grasses, l’ail, les os, les bouchons en liège, les produits chimiques, les matières inorganiques (le sel, le sable, etc.), …

Quels déchets se dégradent le moins vite ?

Jeter ses déchets dans la nature n’est pas sans conséquence. Beaucoup d’entre eux se dégradent plus ou moins lentement, et certains ont une durée de vie de plusieurs milliers d’années ! Parmi ces déchets (sans compter certains déchets nucléaires) on peut retrouver par exemple les piles, les cartes téléphoniques, le polystyrène expansé, les bouteilles, le verre, …

Quels déchets ne faut-il jamais jeter à la poubelle ?

Certains déchets doivent impérativement être jetés à la déchetterie. On y retrouve les encombrants (produits d’entretien usagés ou expirés), la ferraille, les déblais, les gravats, les vêtements ainsi que les appareils électriques et électroniques.

Quelle quantité de déchets jette chaque français par an ?

Chaque français produit environ 1 kg de déchets ménagers par jour. Chaque année, ce n’est pas moins de 354 kg d’ordures ménagères qui sont produites. Ces calculs sont issus de l’Ademe selon les tonnages des poubelles des ménages (sans compter les déchets verts) qui ont été collectées par les collectivités locales.

Recyclage

Comment recycler un mégot ?

L’enjeu majeur d’ÉcoMégot est de recycler et de valoriser les mégots que nous collectons. Aujourd’hui, les mégots sont surtout utilisés pour leurs filtres, qui contiennent de l’acétate de cellulose (matière plastique sous forme de fibre). Ensuite, le recyclage se fait en 4 étapes :

  1. le tri et la séparation des mégots (filtres, feuilles, tabac, autres déchets, …),
  2. le séchage et le broyage des filtres,
  3. la fabrication de granules,
  4. la création de panneaux de sensibilisation à destination des collectivités, entreprises, lycées, …

Comment recycler un masque ?

Une fois la collecte sécurisée et que l’hygiénisation dans nos ateliers est terminée, le processus de recyclage et de valorisation de la matière du masque se fait en 4 étapes :

  1. les masques sont broyés en paillettes,
  2. la séparation entre la ferraille et la matière du masque (le polypropylène) se fait grâce à un module aimanté,
  3. les paillettes de masques sont fondues, mixées puis transformées en granulés plastiques,
  4. la création de panneaux de sensibilisation à destination des collectivités, hôpitaux, entreprises, …

Comment faire pour recycler les déchets ?

Le recyclage est représenté visuellement par le symbole familier du ruban de Möbius. On retrouve 4 étapes concernant le recyclage des déchets : la collecte des  matières recyclables, le traitement (tri, nettoyage et transformation en nouveaux matériaux), la fabrication de nouveaux produits avec des matériaux recyclés et l’achat de produits issus du recyclage.

Pourquoi le recyclage n’est pas une fin en soi ?

Chez Keenat, nous pensons que le recyclage n’est pas la finalité absolue. Nous œuvrons chaque jour, pour impulser des changements de comportement par le biais de la sensibilisation. Un objet recyclé reste un futur déchet à traiter. Nous croyons réellement que le recyclage doit servir la sensibilisation des publics. Notre mission s’achèvera lorsqu’aucun déchet ne sera présent dans les rues, les parcs, les océans, …

Que deviennent les masques et les mégots recyclés par Keenat ?

Keenat a développé des solutions de recyclage respectueuses de l’environnement en partenariat avec des laboratoires français. Grâce à leurs recherches, il est possible de réutiliser la matière issue du mégot de cigarette et des masques chirurgicaux sans utiliser ni eau ni solvant. Nous recyclons ainsi ces déchets en plaques de sensibilisation à destination des collectivités, entreprises, lycées … Ces plaques auront un rôle de rappel et de sensibilisation à la pollution des mégots et masques dans les parcs, les jardins, les rues, les plages, les locaux d’entreprises, les mairies, …

Quel est l’objectif du recyclage ?

Le recyclage sert avant tout à éviter le gaspillage de nos ressources naturelles et de notre énergie. De plus, cela permet de sécuriser l’approvisionnement de l’industrie en matières premières et de diminuer ses impacts environnementaux.

Nous

Qui peut acheter nos solutions ?

Nos solutions s’adressent aux collectivités de toutes les tailles, aux entreprises privées ou publiques, aux campus universitaires, aux établissements ou structures recevant du public. Nous avons également des offres pour des événements ou des festivals.

Pourquoi nos solutions ne sont-elles pas accessibles aux particuliers ?

Aujourd’hui, les déchets que nous traitons (mégots et masques) sont des déchets qui demandent une attention particulière. Pour les mégots, nous devons avoir une qualité suffisante des déchets pour qu’ils puissent être traités et recyclés. Pour le traitement des masques, nous devons être sûrs que le processus de collecte est respecté. Par soucis de traçabilité, nous ne pouvons pas proposer nos solutions à des particuliers. 

Pourquoi nos solutions s’inscrivent-elles dans une démarche RSE ?

La démarche RSE est basée sur trois piliers : l’économie, l’environnement et le social. Avec les solutions Keenat, vous agissez sur ces 3 leviers. Vous agissez sur l’environnement en traitant vos déchets (mégots, masques, chewing-gums). Vous participez à la réinsertion professionnelle de personnes éloignées de l’emploi grâce à nos partenariats avec des chantiers d’insertions partout en France. Vous intégrerez vos collaborateurs dans une démarche qui a du sens et cela se ressentira sur les performances de vos entreprises. Saviez-vous qu’on observe un écart économique de 13% entre les entreprises responsables et celles qui ne le sont pas ? 

Pourquoi sensibiliser les publics ?

Peu de personnes sont sensibilisées à la composition de leurs déchets. Par exemple, certaines personnes ne savent pas que le filtre des mégots est composé de plastique. Nous souhaitons impulser des changements de comportements des publics face à la pollution et l’environnement. 

Nos solutions auraient moins de sens, si les citoyens, collaborateurs ou étudiants n’étaient pas sensibilisés. C’est en discutant et en partageant que les mentalités peuvent évoluer. 

Par exemple, nous avons mené une expérimentation sur Lyon sur une ligne de bus. Sur certains arrêts, nous avions mis en place que les cendriers, sur d’autres des cendriers et du marquage sur les abribus et finalement sur certains arrêts les cendriers, le marquage et la présence d’un Ambassadeur Keenat pour sensibiliser les citoyens. Le volume de mégots aux sols est considérablement réduit lorsque la solution ÉcoMégot est déployée à 100%.

Comment se passe la collecte des déchets ?

La collecte est programmée par nos équipes à l’avance grâce à un algorithme de tournée performant ou selon les besoins du client. Elle est réalisée en priorité par des chantiers d’insertion et des structures d’accompagnement pour personnes en situation de handicap. La collecte se fait à vélo dans la mesure du possible (pour les collectivités et coeurs de villes) afin de minimiser l’impact carbone. Un véhicule utilitaire léger est utilisé pour les collectes métropolitaines, les activités logistiques locales et les opérations SAV. Les mégots sont transportés dans les contenants agréés déchets dangereux et par des personnes habilitées dans le strict respect de la législation en vigueur.

Pourquoi un mégot n’est-il pas recyclable à 100% ?

Un mégot de cigarette contient 3 éléments : le filtre, le papier et le tabac. Le filtre qui est composé d’acétate de cellulose, est ensuite transformé en cette nouvelle matière plastique recyclée. Le papier et le tabac, dit la “fraction organique”, sont valorisés via la filière de valorisation énergétique propre aux déchets dangereux, afin d’être transformés en Combustible Solide de Substitution (CSS).

Aller au contenu principal